Apple banana crumble oatmeal 

I realize that an apple cinnamon crumble recipe is a bit out of season and since it is now officially Spring… I am doing this backwards. But I LOVE apple crumble and will eat it year round so wanted to share with you one of my favorite oatmeal recipes I make almost weekly.

 

Ingredients:

-1 banana                                                                                                                                                      -1/2 cup oats
-1 cup water
-1 cup soy or almond milk
-about 1/2 an apple

For the crumble topping:
-1 cup flour
-1/4 cup brown sugar
-4 tbsp butter
-1/2 tsp cinnamon

Instructions:

For the oatmeal:
  1. Add the milk and water to a medium size pan
  2. While the milk and water are being heated on medium, cut up half an apple (or more) into tiny pieces
  3. Once the water and milk have come to a boil you can add the oats, apple pieces and the banana.
  4. Mash the banana into the mixture and stir well
  5. Let that simmer on medium-low about 20-25 minutes or so (less time if you want your oatmeal more watery)
  6. While those oats are cooking (and they will start to make your whole kitchen smell SOO good) you can prep that delicious crumble
For the crumble topping:
  1. Add the flour, brown sugar and cinnamon into a seperate bowl
  2. Melt the butter in the microwave ( I do 20-30 seconds at a time and stir until its almost completely melted)
  3. Add the butter to the flour mixture and using a fork or whisk mix that all together!

Once the oatmeal is done cooking transfer to a small bowl, pile on that crumble and then I like to add an additional sprinkle of cinnamon on top! SOOOO amazing!

This makes enough oatmeal for me and my son to share plus there is always extra of the crumble topping so I usually just cover the bowl of topping with aluminum foil or plastic wrap and throw it into the fridge for the next day! I have also added it to the top of Liams yogurt and granola and he loved it !

 

 

I wish I could let you all smell this! The brown sugar, apples and cinnamon ….. YUM.

9 thoughts on “Apple banana crumble oatmeal 

Leave a comment